US offers protection for people of Ebola hit countries

A health worker wearing personal protective equipment works at the Ebola treatment center run in Macenta, Guinea on November 20, 2014The United States is offering a temporary haven to citizens from Liberia, Sierra Leone and Guinea, protecting them from deportation to the Ebola-struck countries, officials said Thursday. People from the three West African countries which have been hit hardest by Ebola can request Temporary Protected Status (TPS) for an 18 month period, Homeland Security Secretary Jeh Johnson said. The designations mean that nationals from the three countries and people without nationality who lived in those countries will not be deported and will be allowed to work in the United States, a statement from the Department of Homeland Security said. Eligible people have to demonstrate they have been continuously residing in the United States since November 20 and will undergo security checks to receive the status.

Share this article